Some students take a year off between finishing school and starting university to travel or work. Do the advantages of taking a gap year outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking a gap between finishing school and starting university has increasingly become popular. This essay believes that the merits from working experience and travel outweigh the demerits of losing academic momentum. To begin, a gap year offers students a chance to be exposed to the early working environment, which gives them hands-on experiences. To clarify, most students are inexperienced and confused about their future careers, therefore they need guidance to follow. Once they get engaged in probation or volunteer jobs, they will not only figure out their hidden passion or talent but also enhance practical skills such as time management and communication by working with co-workers and employers. These mentioned merits boost their confidence, which is highly beneficial when entering university. Similarly, the chance to travel is worth mentioning when it comes to the benefit of having a gap year. Simply put, traveling during a gap year exposes students to different cultures, broadening their horizons and enhancing their interpersonal perspectives. That is to say, this can make them more mature and independent, qualities that are the key to success in both university and future careers. However, one concern should be mentioned is the risk of losing academic momentum. In other words, a year away from formal education can make certain students struggle to readjust to the demands of university. This is because they may waste their time doing nonsense activities and therefore fall behind their peers. Consequently, they have to face the feeling of depression, deterring their self-esteem. This point may be true but when students decide to take a gap year, they should already have proper plans that benefit them in this period. To conclude, even though the risk related to academic loss may be a challenge when taking a gap year, the opportunities for personal growth make it a worthwhile experience for many students. Finally, the writer believes that the disadvantage of this trend is outweigh the given advantages.