In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Throughout history, the ultimate goal of every action was always to improve overall health and life expectancy. Today with the advancement of science, the average years of life has increased significantly. Although some people believe that this is advantageous to everyone,I strongly believe the disadvantages of this action outweigh the benefits to both the community and the government. the following two reasons will shed light on this matter. To begin with, ageing brings tremendously huge problems to governments. Take an 80 years old citizen as an example who is probably unemployed and retired, and hardly kept in life with numerous medications, is a significant financial loss for insurance companies and families due to all the medication, in-patient and out-patient costs. Thus, Although there is a responsibility of keeping the elderly safe at any cost, I reckon that insisting on increasing life years despite all the pain and diseases has nothing but shortcomings and suffering. Moreover, this widely prevalent phenomenon of extreme ageing also requires emotional support from families and children.A lot of people's inability to move away from their parents due to various responsibilities to take care of them results in limitations to their whole family. As such, imagine an engineer that get a perfect job position offee and is unable to pursue it just because of this situation to take care of his gradparents, and otherwise, the feeling of guilty conscience would suffer all his families. In conclusion, over-aging with chronic diseases and suffering would definitely harm the governments and hurt elderly' families. Hence I believe the shortcomings definitely override the merits and the optimum years of aging must have limits according to each person's health condition.