It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The idea of taking a gap year after highschool graduation seems to be quite popular recently. While it has both benefits and drawbacks, I think the detrimental effects could be outweighted by advantagous effects that it brings. after a whole progress of being in an competitve and stressful academic environment, people just need a space to rest, to grow without having to worry about things like failing their class, or their grades descendence. Therefore, having a break after that does provide alot opportunities for an individual to enhance person growth. For example, instead of having to spend most of our times doing homework, finishing a project or revise lessons, we take advantage of that leisureness to take on new skills, maybe we can learn a foreign language, practice our culinary ability,etc... A lot of opportunities awaiting.