Nowadays, people always throw the old things away when they buy new things; whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects the phenomenon leads to?

In modern times, repairing items is no longer considered an option when they are damaged; instead, people tend to discard them and purchase new ones. This essay will explore the causes of this phenomenon and also discuss the potential consequences it may bring. One could think of various reasons why they decide to get a new product instead of fixing an existing one. First and foremost, the rapid pace of technological progress in today’s world has led individuals to prefer upgrading to the latest models. This is mostly due to the fact that these devices come with advanced features and functionality. For example, Apple launches its flagship iPhone with enhanced camera capabilities and a lighter body; therefore, consumers are tempted to order it even though their current phones are still functioning. Moreover, repairing old things is more time-consuming and inconvenient. To illustrates, waiting for a repair service usually can take days or even weeks, whereas purchasing a new thing is more convenient and time-efficient. In this case, buying new things provides an instant solution. However, this new habit is expected to lead to various consequences. Most importantly, the volume of household waste will be increased as many communities disregard their old belongings. For example, an old radio might be discarded in the bin without consideration, as people prefer using modern digital devices for entertainment. This behaviour contributes to the growing amount of household waste. In addition, this habit tends to cause consumerism in public. To exemplify, an individual often buys new electronics impulsively because they see their own is outdated. In conclusion, I think this issue exists because of advanced technology as well as amenities. Although it turned out to lead to a waste increase and consumerism culture.