Some people believe that the arts (such as painting, music, and drama) play a crucial role in society, while others think they are a waste of time and resources. Evaluate the significance of the arts in modern society.

The importance of the arts nowadays is a very debatable topic. While some people argue that there is no need for such disciplines as painting, music, and drama, others provide society with relevant arguments about their role in humankind's development. From my perspective, the arts possess great significance for humanity. Firstly, the arts are a part of the cultural heritage of different nations, as it serves as a way to represent your identity and encourage national pride. Also, these activities help people to relieve stress by offering a range of entertainment options from theatres to art galleries, including even Spotify music. Moreover, by picturing a pressing issue, someone can influence social opinion about concrete topics. For instance, artist Bansky is famous for his concerns about the future of humankind. His attempts to capture population`s attention by drawing modern issues, such as inequalities in education, healthcare and level of salaries in developed and developing countries, attracted individuals from all over the world to donate to various charity organizations to mitigate these disparities. On the other hand, there are several arguments against the proliferation of the arts in modern society. The critics say that money spent on the development of the arts could be used more efficiently on social programs which help people who lack resources. Additionally, artists are not as necessary as doctors, for example, so for society, it is better to engage people in other spheres to provide stable and sustainable development of nations. Giving an example, I could remember the famous phrase of a Russian politician, who stated that artists could not invent a cure for cancer, so their occupation was less valuable than other professions. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the arts are undeniably important today, because they enhance culture, help individuals to address mental health problems and attract attention to relevant issues. Nevertheless, there are challenges in these activities, including inadequate budget spending and the disproportion of vital specialists in community. I strongly recommend concentrating on the financial planning of each state to distribute its financial resources correctly and establish programs aimed at attracting more people to essential jobs.