Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the food and beverage industry produces goods that have an alarmingly high amount of sugar. While it is no secret that these sugary products could cause illnesses, there is nothing being done about it. To combat that some argue that is better to make these products more expensive so that it would discourage people from buying them. I, however, find myself opposing this approach. This essay will delve deeper into the matter. Firstly, this policy will hurt the companies as making their products more expensive will surely have a significantly negative impact on their sales. Though unhealthy, the manufacturing company should not be punished unless they have broken some law. Therefore, placing regulations is a better way to solve this issue. For example, making a specific kind of candy more expensive might plummet the company's sales and make it let go of some of its workers which will have dire consequences of its own. Secondly, putting taxes on products or making them more expensive in the name of the good of the people is often a fruitless endeavour. Although it is important to encourage people to stay away from these sugary products, there are better ways to achieve this goal such as advertisements that state the benefits of consuming less sugar. It has been proven time and time again that people respond negatively to artificially high prices. For instance, in the UK a tax on coffee was imposed to discourage people from drinking it. This, however, proved to be less effective than anticipated and only caused public outrage. An outrage that forced the government to revert its policy. To conclude, I firmly believe that something should be done about this high-sugar product but making them more expensive is simply not the way. Better ways, as detailed in the essay, could be making a law on the government's part or broadcasting the benefits of being healthy and staying far from these products.