The number of children who are overweight has risen considerably in recent years. What are the main causes of this issue, and what effects does it have on individuals and society?

The rate of childhood obesity has increased significantly over recent years. This is mainly due to unhealthy eating habits and lack of physical activity. There are a number of effects that can be noted because of this issue. One reasons why childhood obesity occurs is because of unhealthy eating habits, which are frequently influenced by processed and fast food. In other words, modern lifestyles have led families to consume high-calorie meals that contain excessive sugar and fat. For example, children often eat junk food because it is convenient, cheap, and widely available. Another contributing factor is the lack of physical activity. Children today may spend too much time on screens, such as smartphones and computers, instead of engaging in outdoor activities. Therefore, If physical education is not prioritized in schools, children will rarely get the exercise they need to stay healthy. There are two effects of childhood obesity. Firstly, obese children are more likely to suffer from health issues such as diabetes, heart disease, and joint problems at an early age. Their immune systems may weaken, and they often experience low energy levels. Secondly, childhood obesity can negatively affect a child’s mental well-being. That is to say, overweight children are sometimes bullied or face social isolation, which may cause anxiety, low self-esteem, or even depression. For instance, an overweight child may avoid participating in sports or group activities at school because of teasing, which can further impact their confidence and sense of belonging. To sum up, childhood obesity often results in serious health complications and emotional struggles. Hence, parents and schools must encourage healthier lifestyles for children.