Homelessness is becoming a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of homelessness, and what are its effects on individuals and society? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In several nations these days, homelessness has become a pressing issue. This is mainly because of unemployment and family problems. There are a number of effects that can be noted because of this issue. One of the causes of this predicament is unemployment. In other words, some individuals have fewer job opportunities because they do not have enough qualifications and required skills. For example, in most companies these days, people are required to have computer skills, but if they do not have them, they will not be hired. As a result, they most probably struggle financially and cannot pay rent. Another reason is family problems. When children have parents who suffer from divorce, they may run away from their homes and become homeless. There are two effects of homelessness. Firstly, many people will experience poor health. That is to say, homeless individuals often face barriers to accessing health care due to financial constraints, lack of insurance, or social stigma. For instance, some people who sleep on the street suffer from skin diseases, and in some cases, their conditions worsen because they are uncared for. Secondly, people will suffer from low self-esteem. When people do not have a place to stay, they will eventually lose motivation and confidence. As a result, they prefer to isolate themselves instead of mixing with others. To sum up, having poor health and low self-esteem are the two effects of this problem. If the government provides more job opportunities and raises awareness about the importance of family relationships, this may help reduce the problem.