It is shown that many criminals have a low level of education. Some people argue that the best way to reduce crime is to educate criminals in prison to help them find jobs when they leave prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that education is fundamental for all human-beings. While there is a commonly held belief that criminals have low standard of education and that educating them could help reduce crime rate, there is also an argument opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that judging the criminals should not focuse primarily on punishing them but improving their education as well. To begin with, in prisons where offenders are incarcerated for violating the law, one method has proofed its efficiency to some extent. In other words, isolating those who committed crimes from community is mainly intended to protect society from harm. However, prison sentences are limited, and after serving their time, inmates will eventually return to society. For example, if a burglar completed their sentence, the question arises: have the underlying reason that led the burglar to commit the crime been eliminated? Another point to consider, criminals often have poor financial status as well as low levels of education. It is also possible to say that poverty is a shared factor among offenders. Regardless of their reason for committing crimes, prisons authorities must impose rehabilitation programs to improve inmates’ skills and to prepare them to fit back into society. According to studies in UK, the cost of operating prisons is significantly high. Several countries such as Netherlands has transformed many prisons into rehabilitation centers, as a result, they found that the crime rate dropped by 5%. In conclusion, despite differing opinions, I firmly believe that authorities must reconsider the primary purpose of prisons. By providing educational programs to inmates, society can reduce crime rate and help former offenders reintegrate successfully.