In many countries, the amount of household waste like food packaging is increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What measures could be taken to reduce it?

Nowadays, household waste become a critical problem. In many countries, there is an increase in domestic waste like the packaging of food. However, ready-to-eat consumption and the lack of awareness of recycling are the main reasons for this issue, and the most suitable solutions are homemade meals and rising awareness of recycling. The main cause of this problem is the high demand for ready-to-eat food, in other words, in many countries there is an increasing reliance on ready-to-eat food and restaurants, which can lead to an increase in using plastic and paper containers for food packaging. These habits increase the amount of household waste. Another reason is the lack of recycling awareness. Many people do not recycle their waste which leads to accumulating the waste that can be processed and benefit from it instead of getting rid of it. For example, paper packaging and bags can be isolated to be recycled, and then they could be used to produce new items made of wood rather than cutting trees. A viable solution is to reduce pre-packaged food consumption, if families cook their meals and snacks at home, the amount of household garbage like plastic packaging will be reduced over time which can help to solve this issue. Another way to deal with this problem is to make people aware of recycling by establishing widespread campaigns on the importance of recycling and how it relates to protecting the environment. For instance, distributing signs that include information about the types of recycling bins and inviting families to coordinate with recycling companies to collect their useful waste. In addition, introduce subjects about recycling in schools that help students to understand the problems and improve their responsibility skills. In conclusion, although ready-to-eat food consumption and lack of awareness lead to increased household waste, measures like encouraging people to cook at home and raising their awareness about protecting the environment will lead to addressing household waste problems.