In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are numerous young people rather to enrol in work-based training than attending formal education in university in several countries. Although there are surely some positive sides, I would argue that these are outweighted by the drawbacks. To begin with, there has been a growing belief that by choosing work-based training instead of university courses, it may lead to an easy way to finding a job. This can be explained by the fact that there are a popular stigma among the people that the many company nowadays prefer to seek a candidate who are ready to work. Therefore, young generations tend to chose working training since it is only focusing a practical and necessary skills before entering professional world. Indeed, it is true that mostly, training activities focusing to produce someone with practical skills that ready to work. However, by choosing working training than formal education does not provide any guarantee to get hired faster than university students. In fact, recent studies conducted by the University of Diponegoro shows that mainly, recruiters still prioritize a candidate from a well-known university as well as an excellent grade to be consider as one of their employee. This shows that the reputation of attending university still hold an important role to applying for a job position. Furthermore, by attending work-based training, young generation could no get the exposure to studying from a respectful figure from both academic and professional background. This may be caused by the fact that many trainers only come from a related professional background without having some academical achieving. Hence, the quality of people who graduate from university and the one who only enrolled in work-based training will be different. In conclusion, despite the existence of some advantages, I believe that the disadvantages of enrol in work-based training are far greater, making them outweigh the existing of advantages.