The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is common knowledge that fuels arr very harmful to the blue planet and its ecosystem, to limit these impacts, some would suggest to raise its price. I personnally disagree and the following essay will explain why. Above all, the fuel industry is a billion dollars industry, many countries relay and depend on it. The economy of many cities depend on it, therefore creating countless jobs and keeping many roofs over many families heads. The cost of fuel has already been raised by many governements, in an effort to lower its use, unfortunetly that only led to an increase in the prices of basic elements like fresh produce and transportation making the costumer a victim in the absence of any other option. I do agree that for many years and throughout many studies, scientists made it a point to display how destructive the fuel can be to not only the environment, but also to the wild life, on land and in the sea. We have witnessed countless oil spills accidents with dead animals on the shore, which make us reflect of the safety measures for oil transportation. All in all, instead of increasing the price of the fuel, i would rather suggest offering better alternative and investing more in the developpement of electric cars or renewable energies, in addition to making them more affordable thus solving both the economic and environemental issues.