In many countries, people are living in a “throwaway society” where things are used for a short time and thrown away. What are the causes of this and what problems does it lead to?

In our modern society, people tend to use things for a short time span before throwing them away. This is because of a marketing strategy from companies, which can lead to environmental issues. It is conspicuous that the thrown away society has been progressively developed by different manufacturers in order to push population to over-consume their products. Indeed, companies aim to sell the most they are capable of.In this regard, they tend to produce items that last for a minimum duration before being replaced by those consumers. A prime example to be showcased would be mobile phones. Famous brands release each year a new model of smartphone aiming to make buyers change their current tool for the brand new model. However, this policy involves ineluctable environmental issues. Manufacturing a wide range of articles, no matter the type of industry, costs not only money, but also an overwhelming quantity of energy and raw material. In fact, factories use fuel energy and are considered extremely polluting due to their gas emissions as well as the water contamination they induce. According to numerous non-governmental associations, many rivers in The United kingdom are affected by the aforementioned over-manufacturing, in a plenty of sectors. In conclusion, this new culture of using things for a short period of time has been clearly set up by companies and manufacturers. This may induce consequential ecological troubles for our planet and a financial burden for everyone, especially youngsters. It is crystal clear, though, that as responsible citizens, we may consider each purchase twice before doing it.