Many people today find it difficult to balance demands of their work and personal life. What are the causes of this situation and what can individuals and employers do to reduce the problem,

Nowadays the topic of work -life imbalance is a great concern in our modern society. There are several factors that lead to this and two key solutions that we will discuss below. The main cause of this issue is perhaps the loss of extended family members who live together in the same house. As observed in Asian countries like Malaysia and Indonesia, the presence of grandparents in the household is undeniably helpful by offering support to the nuclear family in terms of child care, sharing house chores and even emotional support that will lessen the burden of the parents. Furthermore, it seems that the cost of childcare nowadays is intolerably high, leading to financial worries. Consequently, individuals tend to work overtime or even take on more tasks which further exacerbates this problem. In addition, neglecting self-care by prioritizing work over one’s own health may lead to exhaustion and depression. Turning to the possible solutions, it appears that a more flexible company policy such as allowing employees to work from home may reduce time spent commuting to work, save expenses and reduce psychological distress. Next, if childcare centres were subsidized and many more were made available by the government, people could save more money to spend on their leisure time. Finally, effective time management by creating a proper work schedule and taking regular breaks might reduce burnout in the workplace. To conclude, social isolation and financial difficulties are the roots of these problems. The major solutions include government subsidiaries, impoverished company policy and individual coping skills.