Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, children have been spending long hours on their phones. The main reason for this phenomenon is that smartphones provide entertainment for children. However, from my perspective, this has a negative impact on a child’s brain development. Many children have become recently glued to their screens for a long time to get enjoyment. Smartphones offer enjoyment for kids through games, video and social media, which make them addicted to using their phones on a regular basis without a sense of time because these devices are designed to force people and children to use them and make them engage and have fun. For example, the iPhone has thousands of games on the App Store that are created only for children over 2 years which makes parents feel more comfortable when they download them for their child. It is considered that spending long hours in front of screens especially, for children is extremely harmful to their mental and physical health. Smartphones can cause damage to kid’s brain cells due to electromagnetic radiation that comes from screen lights. Additionally, using phones prevents children from thinking and solving problems normally. For instance, Oxford University has studied using phones for children, and comparing children playing on phones and others playing with traditional toys, it is found that those who use phones in a daily routine can not focus, and they can concentrate only for l a moment, unlike other children who were more concentrating when they solved problems. Having said that l believe that smartphones have side effects on kid’s thinking and productivity. In conclusion, children like to use phones for long hours because it gives them a sense of enjoyment. However, from my point of view, this has negative effects on a child’s mind development because of the distractions light and radiation that come from these devices.