You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Shortage of freshwater water supply continues to be a widely discussed topic today as the catastrophe it can bring is enormously worrying. There are several identified causes together with a few viable solutions that we will discuss below. Firstly, it seems that the main factor involved is water contamination which leads to a reduced supply of clean water. The emissions from cars, factories and other human activities contain damaging pollutant particles which in turn can contaminate rainwater run-off and thus enter the water cycle. Next, increased population growth over time and industrialization leads ro overconsumption and shrinkage of water reservoirs. Finally, global warming due to the greenhouse effect, a worldwide phenomenon has reduced global water reserve. To exemplify this, i. countries like Singapore which has low natural water resources, these combined effects of global warming and low supply are seen as more devastating. Turning to the possible remedies for this issue, a widespread Save Water campaign might increase public awareness of using water more efficiently. For instance in Malaysia, the government is actively promoting mindful use of water supply by advertising in mainstream media. Secondly, perhaps, more subsidised water -saving equipment funded by the government is most welcomed. This special equipment, such as water -saving taps, toilets and showers showed a substantial reduction in water use per year and is undeniably cost-effective. Finally, it appears that stricter legislation and punishment for offenders who contaminate water sources such as rivers might mitigate the crime related to these pressing problems. In conclusion, freshwater reduction originates from human and environmental causes while the measures to tackle this issue lie on the government's shoulders and public efforts.