It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

In today's world of the modern era,people have changed drastically.They have adopted different methods to survive in a fast-paced society. Thus,it is usual for a few pupils to take a break after high school and do charitable work after travelling from developed to developing countries. This essay will elucidate the benefits and drawbacks of youngsters doing volunteer work. To begin with positive points,youngsters will become an all-rounder.To illustrate,during volunteering, they will get a chance to interact with different walks of people having unique cultural backgrounds.They will learn the various languages and have an excellent opportunity to understand their lifestyle. Additionally,volunteer work also helps to develop a sense of responsibility and punctuality in the young generation. For instance, younger ones working in the old-age home will know the importance of giving medicines and meals to old people on time. Apart from advantages, there are a few disadvantages,the break between high school and university can have a bad effect on children's academics. For example, pupils will start to forget the various significant concepts learnt in school during their break time. While joining the further educational programs,they will need to do a revision of all the important topics relevant to their courses. Nevertheless, there is a high probability, that after a break they will not be willing to start an education because of a loss of interest in studies. To conclude,volunteering during a gap year between high school and university has both pros and cons. However, the individual must be very careful in making decisions related to charitable work in developing countries as it can have a direct impact on their future.After analysing it in detail, I believe that charitable work can be done after university courses instead of taking breaks in between.