It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is usual for a few students they take a small break before joining college instead they work or travel. The main benefit of this is they can earn money for college fees and gain knowledge; however, the key drawback of this is they lose interest in their studies and earn less in future. I think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. There are a few benefits of having a gap between school and college. Students can do some part-time jobs and earn money in order to reduce the burden on parents. In addition to this, most of the students travel during this time and gain knowledge about the neighbouring countries. For example, In the United States, most of the small restaurants are filled with teenagers after completing schooling stated that they earn money to pay their college fees. Apart from the advantages, there are a few disadvantages like interest in education might reduce as they feel lazy again to study and attend exams. Also, once they start earning and living on their own they might feel this is enough for their life. As a result, they get paid less because they don't have any degree in getting the highest-paid jobs. For instance, In South Africa, the percentage of students completing schooling is not even close to the percentage of people who joined colleges. To conclude, It is common for a few students to take a break before joining further studies. I think that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits because they don't like to continue their studies and end up getting less-paid jobs even though they get job experience and pay their own fees.