Education is not the learning of facts, but the training of the mind to think To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons and specific examples to support your answers.

It is believed that the main goal of any education is to get the mind adept in thinking, not being a repository of facts. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this idea. To begin with, the role of education should be to enable our brains to critically think and not just the learning of facts. Being unpredictable by nature, our future is filled with uncertainty and, coupled with the pace of technological advancements, current knowledge could be rendered obsolete with newer discoveries. Therefore, an education solely focused on the requisition of only facts may not adequately prepare learners for life in the modern world. Instead, they should be taught how to critically think and make-do with the current situation in an effective manner. Such robust education could create a generation of learners who are resilient to rapid changes usually brought about by modern society. Furthermore, the ability to critically think can help develop other essential skills as well. Critical thinking often entails rigorous assessment of claims made by others, instilling in students the importance of verifying information, which is an important skill due to the prevalence of misinformation in the modern world. Besides rigor, students can also develop a more rational thinking by weighing two claims together, making connections between them and concluding which is more effective. On the other hand, opponents of my viewpoint argue that learning facts can provide a solid foundation for any student’s future careers. Indeed, critical thinking does not occur without the required prerequisites — knowledge already established in academia. However, just relying on learning facts rather than the ability to think could severely limit how a student applies what they have learnt besides the known cases. For a wider scope of application, students need critical thinking to draw connections between facts to ultimately discover new interesting concepts that improve their intrinsic skill sets. For example, social studies students can become great communicators by taking advantage of their knowledge on societal factors that influence how people act in communication. Therefore, facts act as a catalyst for success, not a turning point, and thus, critical thinking should take priority in education. In conclusion, whilst facts does contribute to a better foundation, it should not be the sole focus of education but rather, the focus should be on training students how to think. In my opinion, this can create a well-rounded society, prepared for any situation they may face in the future.