Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, many countries have become increasingly similar due to people now can easily purchase the same items from other places in the world. In my opinion, this is a negative development because some local businesses may close and fail, additionally, some may lose their cultural identity. On the one hand, multinational corporations may be leading to some challenges for small businesses and local shops. Big brands nowadays are very popular because people recently want to be fashionable and cool which caused several issues for some local shops in some countries. For example, in Saudi Arabia, people buy their clothes from only globally famous shops in order to be trendy unfortunately, lots of local stores shut down due to no one buying from them. On the other hand, another problem is that many people these days from advanced countries have lost their cultural identity. Everything now is extremely similar such as clothes, houses and even how people communicate because everything in modern life encourages people to do the same things which causes many people to lose their culture and identity in order to follow the Western culture. For instance, Japanese people now are wearing and using foreign products and even they have changed their home design because of the impact of modern life and no longer use the unique traditional products they used to have and even some of them do not know Japanese’ culture and traditional events because of influences by the Western civilization. In conclusion, the increasing similarity between countries has a negative impact on the development of these countries because purchasing the same products regularly by different people from different regions may cause some people to lose their identity due to their do not wearing or using their local products, and also it results in some local stores closed because no one uses these products anymore.