One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Food is said to be the most pivotal factor of human life, but the planet Earth is facing a serious crisis due to the shortage of food materials and it is a real challenge for every human to find the best way to overcome it. However, some people think that genetically altered foods are a plausible solution to this issue. In this essay, I shall express my opinion that, while modified food can help to control this situation, it is not the entire solution. On one hand, genetically modified food can have a number of advantages when there is a shortage of food. For instance, they can be cultivated within less duration and the usage of pesticides can also increase the lifespan of the crops and vegetables. In addition, they can be stored for a long time for consumption purposes because the preservatives will keep them fresh for many days. Moreover, this can help people to access affordable and nutrient-rich foodstuffs. Additionally, in these types of food cultivators can able to manually add some substance that can improve the vitamins, minerals and other essential nutrients in it, which can help people improve their health. On the other hand, there are numerous demerits about this kind of genetically altered food. For example, according to scientific research conducted by the World Health Organisation, these genetically altered foods are causing various health issues in humans, such as it is the main reason for obesity, heart-related problems and even life-threatening diseases called cancer. Apart from that, this can lead to the cross-breeding of different species which can damage the ecosystem. Mainly, safety is the prime concern when it comes to this kind of food, that is because it is not naturally grown. In conclusion, while genetically modified foods can have potential benefits, the risk is also equally high. Therefore, the government should follow apprehensive measures such as utilising the available resources adequately and allocating the supplies equally. Especially, proper initiatives must be taken to control the wastage of foodstuff, which will be necessary to tackle this pressing global issue and famine.