IELTS Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve the problem?

In recent years, consumption of products has increased significantly which causes many serious environmental problems such as pollution and global warming. The primary cause of this phenomenon is people are influenced by the wasteful lifestyle and the most viable solution is raising awareness among people about this issue. The natural environment is being threatened by the increasing consumption of items rapidly due to the wasteful culture. Modern life has forced many people to consume more than they need and affects them unconsciously by advertising companies and social media. For example, after the Industrial Revolution in 1950, America had been bombarded by advertisements everywhere which influenced many residents to buy more than they needed and the rate of purchasing increased rapidly, however, that led later to damage to some forests due to cutting wood. However, a long-term solution for this problem is to increase awareness about the consequences of this issue. Demonstrating the results in the consumption of goods is encouraging people to stop buying and be conscious of the campaign’s aims. For instance, school children in Germany were taught about the impact of consumption habits on the environment and how to avoid that effect through recycling and now they have one of the highest rates of recycling and more aware of how to preserve the environment. In conclusion, consumerism recently is the biggest problem in the world which has caused several environmental issues due to the wasteful culture that many people have. To solve this problem is about explaining the side effects of consumption on our planet