In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

in many countries, people now have longer life expectancy compared to the past days. While some individuals think an elderly people creates more problems for the authorities, many believe there are advatages having an ageing population. However, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the potential benefits. The primary disadvantages of having elderly people is they need a lot of money to maintain their physical health. It means, their families need to save money for them to cure their illness. Besides, the government should provide good quality of healthcare to support them. For instance, in Japan, the authorities spent around 30% of State Budget to cover the healthcare facilities for an ageing population in 2023. Another disadvatages disadvantages is they need someone to take care of them. If their families cannot take care the elderly people, they will send them to homecare. Furthermore, people who live with elderly people should spare their time to ensure they are in good condition. It will pose as burden for their families. For example, in Indonesia, taking care of parents is children's responsibilities. This is the reason why many people could not spend their time with their colleagues and friends. As a result, their social life tend to be not good. In conclusion, having ageing population poses some challenges, such as a lot of money that should be spent for maintaining their physical health and the time that should be sacrificed to protect them in their retirement. Therefore, I believe that the merits are eclipsed by demerits.