In some counties, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other older people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is a practice in some nations that, when any member of the family get old, they move to old-age homes where there are taken care of by the nurses. Moreover, it is the governing bodies who provide funds for such care. I, strongly belive that it is the family members who should spend pn their own for this care, because it is their moral responsibility to do so. Moreover, the government has numerous other national responsibilities where this money must be channelized. This essay will further elaborate on the above viewpoints. To commence with, our parents and grandparents spend their lives making multiple compromises in order to take good care of us. Furthermore, they are our staunch support during our challenges. They struggle to earn sufficient money so that their children receive the best of educational and medical facilities. When our elders reach their senescence, they become weak and fragile, thus needing someone to help and nurture them. Therefore, as children, it is our moral duty to express our gratitude towards them by paying for the services they need during their old age. For illustration, in India, children who’s parents stay in old-age homes, themselves pay for the nurses along with other daily facilities. To add on, government is a central body which is formed to take important decisions for the country. It has an annual financial budget which needs to be spilt for multiple purposes such improving the nation’s health- care facilities, buying state-of-the art defence equipments to keep the national borders secure, generating new employment opportunities along with strengthening the country’s education system. All this requires huge amount of financial reserves. Thus, funding the nursing expenses of the entire older population will lead to depletion of this national money. This will consequently lead to reduced annual budget for other crucial national developments, eventually putting the country’s progress at stake. For example, to secure its national borders from terrorits, India requires highly specialised defence equipment. Buying this is not feasible if funds are alloted allowed allotted for nursing of old people. To recapitulate, in some nations the older population of a family shifts into old-age homes, to spend rest of their lives with others like them and are looked after by the nurses. I, think that the government must not pay for these services as it has various important national duties to cater to. Hence it is the family members who must pay for their elders’s care.