There is certainly a difference in thoughts, ideas and actions between children, their parents and grandparents. Why do these differences exist? Does it cause problems in your community, in your opinion?

In a rapidly developing world, the differences in opinion, attitude and lifestyle of children from those of parents and grandparents are obvious. This can be due to the new technologies and the influence of modern culture. From my personal standpoint, differences in viewpoints do lead to various problems such as a lack of personal connections among the family and a lack of intergenerational communication. Emerging technologies such as smartphones, laptops, social media applications and video games are the prime reason for the cultural gaps between the two generations. While parents prefer face-to-face interaction, children are using online networks to communicate with friends as everything has digitalized now. Likewise, parents love to eat homemade food, whereas, children are more interested in eating fast food and junk. This is because, foreign cultures are influencing youths in different ways. For instance, the survey conducted by India claimed that Western culture influences the spread of international brands such as Levi's, KFC and Peter England and similarly, some social media websites like Instagram and Twitter also influence today's generation and have decreased the time children spend with their parents in 2019 by at least 38% as compared to 1998. This tremendously increased the differences in thoughts, ideas and actions between the two generations because the older generation people are not always broad-minded, their stubborn beliefs lead the youth to turn arrogant and clumsy. Futhermore, these cultural differences result in a lack of communication between the two generations which leads to improper guidance for youth on the one hand and a loss of cultural values and identity on the other. As an example, Social scientists have proved that if parents do not spend time with their offspring eating, and discussing ideas, events, history and culture, a community will forget all the traditions and history within five generations. In conclusion, the differences in ideas and attitudes between children and parents are common. However, they may seriously affect the development of society and lead to loss of identity and their own family values and culture. Therefore, these differences should be bridged by encouraging the parents and their offspring to spend adequate time with each other. I believe that COVID-19 has paved the way to strengthen family bonds