Nowadays many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the causes for that? How can this problem be solved?

Recently, household waste items like food packaging is on a constant rise in many nations. This is due to an increasing number of people satisfying their hunger by consuming ready to eat food items. This problem can be successfully dealt with by reusing the food containers or boxes. To commence with, the world is growing at a rapid pace where people work hard to earn good money in order to spend a decent lifestyle. Therefore, many people work fulltime from 9am to 5pm and sometimes end up working overtime due to the increased work pressure. Owing to their hectic schedules, they end up buying packaged food like wraps and burgers to satiate their hunger. Moreover, after reaching home they are too exhausted to cook any meals, and as a consequence, frequently end up ordering food from the restaurants. This in turn has led to more plastic food- containers to be present in the household waste. For example, the aluminium foil in which rolls and wraps are packed are disposed away after finishing the meal. The issue of increased food packging in the waste needs to be solved urgently as a majority of this is non-biodegradable. Many hotels and cafes use plastic containers to deliver the food. Notably, these containers are quite durable and leakproof. But, they are not ecofriendly. Thus, they must be not be disposed off immediately and must be reused at home to pack and store other things. For instance, in India, it is a widespread practice to reuse the restaurant food containers for storing chillies in the refridgerator. This will be beneficial to reduce the waste material generated from the households, ultimatley keeping the the environment safe. To recapitulate, hectic schedules leading to higher consumption of outside food is a causative factor for the hike in the food packaging materials constituting the domestic waste of many countries. This can be tackled by following the strategy of reusing them.