In some countries,young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and strating university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. write atleast 250 words.

Work or travel for a period of one year between completing high school and joining university education is advised for young people in some nations. Taking a gap year to work or travel between high school and university is advantageous in that it promotes mental health and enables time for decision making. However, young people may lag behind and also leads to increased rates of drop out. One major advantage as to why it is encouraged to work or travel for one year before joining university for young people is because it promotes rest that leads to better mental health, since these young people are able to travel,explore and unwind from the stressful academic environment they were in before joining university. Additionally,it gives ample time for the young people to make guided decisions on the courses to do while at the university. For example,before joining university, a student may choose to do internship in a related field they are interested in, so that by the end of the period they are able to better decide if a related university course is fit for them. On the other hand, taking a year off for work or travel before joining the university may lead to increased rate of dropout from the academic route and failure to advance to university because some of them may get satisfactory jobs which discourages them from going back to university after one year. For instance,if a high school graduate got a job as shop attendant and got a satisfactory pay to meet his needs,he may see no reason to continue with university Furthermore, young people that take a year break end up lagging behind. For example, some courses studied at high school are very useful for university education and the longer a person stays without studying,the primary knowledge learnt while in high school may be forgotten and this will take them time to catch up once they join the university after a year. In summary,whilst its beneficial for young people to take a year between finishing high school and starting university, because it gives them enough time to ensure have made the right academic choice and its importance in mental health, there may also be some negative effects to taking a year off like increased rate of drop out and academic delay.