Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is widely believed that the length of working hours determines a country's economic success but also brings negative social impacts for its workers. I strongly agree with this statement because it decreases their mental health and causes a social gap. First and foremost, the vast majority of employees experience a lack of time to relax. Limited spare time makes it difficult for individuals to recover or enjoy their pastime, as the human body has its limits. For example, when employees often work overtime with an excessive workload, they do not have time for self-care. Even on weekends, they may spend their time catching up on sleep instead of relaxing, only to face a busy Monday. As a result, this routine, when sustained over a long period, increases the risk of stress, fatigue, and burnout. Furthermore, people who sacrifice their time for work long hours for this often feel increasingly disconnected from social interactions. This is mostly due to workers with uncommon schedules tend to have less time for socialise with friends or even family. For instance, parents who work outside the house with a packed schedule are often absent from their children's growth. In such cases, children may feel a lack of attention from their busy parents, creating emotional distance within the family. Parents may feel guilty, but they often cannot help since they must earn a living. In conclusion, countries may achieve greater economic success by demanding their society to work with long hours, but this comes with consequences such as a decline in population health and strained social relationships.