Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two viewpoints regarding how children should occupy their free time. Some believe that they should participate in group activities, while others opine that they ought to amuse themselves alone. I am going to discuss both views and present my own opinion in this regard in the following paragraphs. Beyond the shadow of a doubt, gregarious activities can create a feeling of collaboration in offspring, boost their teamwork abilities, and teach them how to interact efficiently with their peers. For instance, kids who play on a basketball team learn how collaboration with other teammates and teamwork can make them reach their goals and win a game. Concerning the notion that offspring are supposed to occupy themselves on their own, advocates mention some advantages, including that these deeds can increase offspring’s competitive sense, boost their self-confidence, and foster their creativity level. For example, it has been shown by Japanese scientists, who worked with a group of 1000 youngsters in Tokyo in 2012 that the creativity level in children who are the only child in a family is higher than those who are born in large families, because kids in the first group tend to play and amuse themselves alone instead of playing with either their siblings or peers. I personally reckon that both notions can be beneficial for kids. As youngsters grow up and enter society, they ought to know how to adapt themselves efficiently with others. This ability entails having knowledge regarding the proper manner of teamwork and interacting with people. On the other hand, they should know how to compete with others in a fiercely competitive world without getting help from anyone. Moreover, they need to know how to be creative and think independently to create opportunities and achieve their goals. Therefore, both notions are true, since these deeds can empower different abilities, which a child needs in his or her future life and career to be successful. To sum up, regarding whether a child should participate in communal activities or amuse himself or herself alone, two viewpoints were discussed, and I presented my own opinion in this regard in the abovementioned paragraphs.