Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Modern society suffers from a vast amount of various ecological problems, and the most serious one is global warming, the main causes of which are deforestation and power generation. The issue may be solved if the world will avoid making crucial mistakes by spreading awareness of the consequences and controlling damaging actions by official laws. Global warming is a result of the atmosphere being polluted by enormous amounts of various chemicals, and so-called greenhouse gases, such as carbon dioxide and nitrous oxide, in particular. Cutting down forests is one of the main causes of carbon dioxide emissions. In order to create space for building infrastructure, farms, or factories, around twelve million hectares of forests are destroyed annually. When a tree is cut down, it releases the aforementioned greenhouse gas that had been stored inside for years. Moreover, deforestation leads to limitation of nature's ability to extract filthy emissions from the atmosphere, since it is the function of trees, which are being destroyed. A major part of polluting emissions is transferred into the atmosphere due to the generation of energy, which is produced by burning coal, oil, natural gas, et cetera. An uncountable number of various factories use the heat and electricity extracted this way on a daily basis, leading to the air being uncontrollably corrupted. Despite the seriousness of the issue at hand, a number of certain measures may be able to make the situation better. For instance, numerous ecological organisations, movements and separate activists already take measures to reduce the amount of trees cut every year by spreading awareness of consequences among ordinary people and lobbying eco-friendly ideas to government and different companies, sometimes gaining a huge success and resulting in the appearance of stricter rules and laws on the process of cutting down forests, resulting in reduction of the amount of carbon dioxide emitted in the air annually. Speaking of dealing with energy generation, there is always an option to switch to the ways of producing electricity and such that do not require burning any raw materials. For example, windmills already make nearly a quarter of the whole amount of power created around the globe, and do not pollute nature. By spreading knowledge of various methods to power manufacturing in such “green” ways and lobbying the ideas to the government is ought to have positive effects and changes, causing companies to change the approach to energy creation, and creating restrictions of power extractment extraction extracting on a legislative level. To conclude, it shall be said that global warming is a major issue looming over the whole world, caused by different kinds of human activities, such as deforestation and power creation. However, despite the seriousness of the problem, it is in society’s power to put it to a end by making the world aware of the concerning trouble and causing the government to imply various ways to control the damaging actions of people.