Many students find it difficult to pay attention at school. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Several pupils find it challenging to pay attention at school. This is mainly owing to sleep deprivation and technoligical distractions. However, there are solutions that can be implemented to help students focus better in school. Firstly, the main reason for this issue is sleep deprivation. In other words, many students do not get enough sleep since they have a lot of homework to complete, often staying up past midnight. For example, in Korea, many students are assigned a significant amount of homework, causing them to go to bed late every day. Therefore, they struggle to concentrate during lessons the following day. Secondly, students often fail to pay attention due to technological distractions. Some students bring their phones to class and play games while lessons are ongoing, which prevents them from staying focused. There are two effective solutions to overcome this problem. One effective measure is for schools to reduce the amount of homework assigned. Schools should also encourage students to complete their homework during school hours so that they have enough time to rest when they go home. As a result, this will help them remain focused the next day. Another solution is to improve the learning environment. Schools can minimize distractions by enforcing strict rules on smartphone usage in class. This wil eventuallyl prevent students from using electronic devices during lessons. To sum up, reducing the amount of homework and coming up with strict rules are effective ways to address this issue. If schools implemented these solutions, the difficulty of keeping students ' attention in class could be significantly reduced.