Some people think the police should carry guns because this can make people protected, while others think the police should not carry guns because the police with guns will lead to more violent crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people claim that policemen should be allowed to carry weapons, others urge our law to prohibit this practice because it could be harmful to the population. This essay aims to explore both views and agrees with the first statement. It is conspicuous that several citizens think that the police workforce should be allowed to be armed in order to deal with criminals in a better way. This is because policemen, by carrying guns, may be more scary for lawbreakers, which may deter them from committing crimes.Indeed, a criminal who carries a knife would certainly be less dangerous when he is in front of an armed policeman. Furthermore, citizens may feel psychologically more protected regarding the most dangerous malefactors. For example, the American states where weapons are allowed witness a very low crime rate. On the other hand, many others are convinced that this phenomenon may be harmful to the community.In fact, the police carrying guns can theoretically lead to an overuse of dangerous weapons by those criminals.In this regard, it would be utopic to consider that the most threatening lawbreakers will stop their illegal activities because the police workforce is armed. Moreover, there is a strong possibility of regularly witnessing scary battles between the police and those people, which may ineluctably involve innocent victims. In conclusion, carrying guns by the police would be beneficial for national security because it may deter criminals from committing crimes. However, it may also lead to more violent confrontations between criminals and policemen.Even though, it is crystal clear that it would be better to make our protectors more equipped against those villains.