There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

In modern societies, it has been quite common to pressurise the young mind, some people argue that it will help them to cope in the future, whereas others say it's a suppression of their childhood freedom. I partially agree that children's education should be based on their interests rather than what parents believe. To begin with, most of the parents, especially from the middle class tend to pressure their children to perform excellently in academic subjects over non-academic ones, This is mainly, due to peer pressure from society and relatives, job uncertainty and for better future. However, only a certain percentage of student succeed in their end goals. Mainly, because of high competition and limited opportunities for higher education and jobs. For example, as per the recent survey data from The Global Times on international students, 70% of students have opted for international colleges and universities over the domestic ones, due to higher standard of study, more job opportunities during and after education USE SYNONYMS culturedisciplineimprovementinformationlearningliteracyscholarshipschoolingsciencestudy It is important to use synonyms in your writing, as you will lose marks if you repeat words from the question and use the same words in your essay over and over. If you do that, it will show the examiner that you have a limited vocabulary and you want to do the opposite for a high band score. are the key factor behind their decision. On the other hand, most of parents believe that non-academic stream subjects like physical education, and cooking are low-status education, having quite a low scope of job opportunities and limited salaries. For instance, as per society, an engineer or doctor has much more social status compared to the start hotel chiefs, nevertheless, even they earn equally. Hence, most parents emphasize academic modules that lead to better job opportunities in the future. But non-academic subjects have their own advantages, like, it helps to maintain mental and physical balance, especially for young students. Continued study in a particular subject tends to reduce holistic thinking and mental productivity. whereas, physical education helps pulps to keep healthy and energetic, so that, they can concentrate more on their desired subject of interest. To conclude, as many believe academic subjects lead to a better future, non-academic programs of studies also play a vital role in overall development, Hence, there should be a balance of both in the school syllabus.