Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advancements of online systems have been popular recently, resulting in more people interacting virtually than in actual life. In my opinion, the frequent use of online platforms to socialize could lead to detrimental implications in the future because individuals will be less sociable and will experience negative changes even worse, it could trigger crimes. Socializing online is undoubtedly known to be addictive so that drives individuals away from reality because they focus on virtual life. This can gradually lead to detachment from and ignorance of society as they tend to be secluded. For instance, teenagers who often use social media have many interactions through the internet with their friends, which restricts them from meaningfully connecting with their families in real life since they have become engrossed in online interactions. Therefore, the more obsessive they are, the more they isolate themselves from the real world. Moreover, social media definitely has high accessibility for its users, creating a place where people can commit illegal actions easily. If people simply engage with strangers, then it negatively attracts bad individuals as they could benefit from them in many ways because those criminals will seek for advantages by wrongly utilizing internet platforms. To illustrate, online site users often feature confidential information or even update their activities regularly, which lures offenders to steal their personal data to be sold to others or used when committing their actions in order not to be caught. As a result, it will affect people's safety by involving them in dangerous situations. To summarize, online socialization only brings negative developments by making people oblivious and solitary about their surroundings and real life, as well as getting them into serious problems that can happen unexpectedly and heighten the risk of criminal victimization.