Globalisation has highlighted the need for international communication. It is often argued that English should be compulsory subject for all school children around the world. Others argue that this would do more harm than good. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate about common language globally has been a controversial one, with development worldwide, the importance of communicating with a common language globally has increased. while many propose English to be mandatory taught in all schools internationally, others advocate that it could cause more disaster than benefits. Even though both views are correct, i am of the opinion that English should be compulsory for children in school to learn, as it can promote equality in the long run. To start with, Migration could be achieved easily with the use of common vocabulary as there would not be a need for further learning required. In recent days, most higher institutes require proof of English such as IELTS in order for children to be admitted into college, which is often unachieviable achievable as most of these kids were not familiar with English from the onset, and this could deemed their dream of obtaining better education of international standard. However, making English obligatory may cause distraction in children and lead them to ignore the importance of their local dialect in the process. There is no doubt that children are smart and are capable of learning the language easily, but considering that they have other subjects like science that also need time and attention, English is of no use at that moment. moreover, they can learn English as adults when they feel the need, as not all children will want to travel around the world. In conclusion, a common language for all individuals is essential in aspects due to the global increase in migrations, but one cannot ignore the fact that it also has multiple challenges, therefore, it is crucial to address these concerns in order to obtain mutual benefits.