Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Relying on unconventional medicines instead of standard medical treatments is what an increasing percentage of patients prefer these days. Despite some advantages which may be considered by these people, it is a dangerous and unreasonable approach to cure health problems that can threaten patients ’ lives. Some people with health issues may believe that alternative medical treatments are more effective and also safer ways of healing. Alternative medicine includes using special diets and herbal handmade edibles to treat different diseases even some fatal ones such as end-stage cancers! Some traditional physical therapies are also included such as acupuncture and special massage using some particular oils. Complementary medicine, using only natural ingredients and being non-invasive and easily accessible, seems much more appealing to patients particularly the poorly educated ones. What is more, these people often tend to trust supernatural powers and superstitions to tackle their every single issue specifically their illnesses. unconventional ways of treating sicknesses are the best approach to satisfy these people and make them believe they are on the very right path! Modern medicine significantly adopts more effective and reliable approaches to cure patients. To produce a specific medication as the main cure for an illness, a huge number of experiments and trials is conducted on both animals and humans over several years. Not being sure about the accurate amount of effective substance in herbal and handmade medications makes them so life-threatening as they can lead to deadly overdoses while the detailed and specified formulation of industrial medications prescribed by practitioners makes them the most reliable way to control and cure diseases. Furthermore, doctors spend almost more than 10 years to be qualified to diagnose and treat different disorders which is why they are inevitably the most trustworthy people from whom patients must seek help from. to conclude, some people choose some alternative and non-standard forms of treatments when they face health problems. However, lack of accuracy and enough experimental attempts makes them irrational approaches. Doctors are the safest to refer to due to their sufficient knowledge and prescribing safe proven medications.