Some people think sports games are important for society, while others believe they should be taken as leisure activities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Ever since the creation of sports games dating back to ancient Greek times, there has always been a heated discussion about the importance of having sports games. While for some athletic enthusiasts, sports competitions have crucial contributions to our community, others argue that these are just recreational events, complementary but not necessary. As both perspectives have valid points, we will discuss and explore both views in this essay. First and foremost, it is inarguable to say that engaging in sports events has great benefits for all dwellers in our society. For instance, sports games like the Olympics can motivate individuals to actively participate in athletic exercises, which enables them to have better health conditions and improved personal well-being. In addition, watching sports games like FIFA also encourages people to establish their own individual goals after their favourite players, which in return contributes to a more positive lifestyle. This is also identified and supported in the education curriculum documents, particularly facilitating young kids to join sports inside or outside of school. Therefore, it is obvious that sports games are indeed fundamental for our society. However, this is not to say that other activities should make way for sports games, as the nature of the sports games is indeed made for leisure purposes. This is because there are more fundamental aspects of life that need to be catered for, like housing, eating etc. Furthermore, there are also other entertainment activities for individuals to choose from and enjoy. This includes visual arts, music and drama. Hence, it is irresponsible to over-hype about the sports games. In my opinion, both sports games and other leisure activities should be advocated and supported for all individuals to explore and participate in. This ensures the human autonomy that everyone has the agency to engage in the activities they like. In other words, it is about nurturing our community members with holistic development, as illustrated in the educational literature. In a nutshell, we shall acknowledge the importance of sports games and their great contribution to our daily lives. Yet, we also need to recognise other needs demanded in our community. We shall harness a holistic approach, enabling everyone to enjoy various leisure activities without compromising our living basics.