Some people believe that capital punishment are effective in term of curving crimes and should be given priority during choosing punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argues capital sentences is an effective way to reduce crimes, thus it is needed to be prioritise in judging criminal cases. To some extent, I do agree in enacting capital punishment to certain crimes that has severe negative impact to our society and this essay will discuss the arguments. Firstly, severe punishment in a form of death sentences is important because of the effectiveness in reducing potential crimes in the future. Giving people examples of what they will get if they do a crime that will get them a death penalty should make people think twice about what they are doing. However, capital penalty should only be limited to severe crimes. For instance, act of terrorism could be considered as a severe crimes since it usually targets civilian in a large scale, thus making society in danger overall. Secondly, establishing capital punishment, especially for certain crimes, could also make our judiciary system more efficient in making their decision. Different from prison punishment that requires the judges to discuss about how long the punishment will last, the death sentence is only a matter of yes or no. Although it is not always as simple as that, but the death sentence is only contain binary options, while imprisonment is not. For example, if judges encounter a severe crime, they could simply discuss whether the death penalty is needed or not for the case. In conclusion, I agree with the statement with the arguments about effectiveness and efficiency for our judicial system to treat certain cases. Meanwhile, I also stated that while it is important to establish death punishment, it is important to limit the usage only to the most severe crimes. This act is important in order to keep this measurement only for safeguarding our society and not for other purposes.