A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as a human, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including use for foods and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The discussion about animal rights have been separating people since decades. While some people argues that animals have the same rights as human, others think that the sole purpose of existence of animals is to fulfill our needs. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion on this debate. People that support animal rights argue that animals are living things that have the same characteristics with human, thus it is logical to think that animals also have certain rights that human has. Then, these rights need to be respected by all creatures including us. For instance, people that support this view would see treatment of animals as a means of something other than their welfare is violating the natural rights of living things, such as slaughtering animals for food purposes or hurting animals for research purposes. On the other hand, people that rejecting this view argue that human is different creatures with animals because of our distictive characteristics. The intellegence that human has thus making us separated from the rest of all creatures in this planet. Sometimes, this side is also often based their arguments on religous foundation that perceive human as the leader in this planet, then animals (and also plants) are created by God as resources for us. Therefore, based on this view, it is not technically wrong to use animals as a means to reach other goals, such as doing research or to meet our diet demands. While both opinions have its point, I believe that the good thing we could do are to still utilise animals for our needs and simultaneously respect the rights of animals by treating them well. For example, the treatment for rising animals for food consumption need to be ethically correct with certain measurement that ensures the welfare of the animals are not much violated, such as conducting a slaughtering process in a most possible way to minimise pain for the animals. In conclusion, I argue that it is important to maintain our respect for animal rights and welfare conditions while we use them to satisfy our needs. This view balanced the two extremes that prevailed in the discussion about the animal rights.