Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

oday most tourists visit museums and historical locations rather than local citizens. I think the major reason for this issue is related to financial defects, and should the government attempt to solve this problem, in this essay I will mention the causes of this phenomenon and what is the solution. First of all, the primary cause of this issue due to higher entry fees for historical sites. In other terms, local people have low salaries that difficult to cover the high demand for the payment of museum tickets which leads to avoiding the local population attending these places. For example, in Makkah, Saudi Arabia, there is a large museum called Khalid bin Alwaleed the organization responsible for the museum published a survey in Makkah newspaper for the most common reason why Makkah people do not come to the museum Khalid bin Alwaleed. The results have shown 66% because of high tickets fees. As a result, the government must decrease the amount of tickets. To tackle this matter, the government should launch a publicity discount advertisement in media, schools and universities. In other words, the authorities must implement some programs in social media that involve various activities in addition to discounts on tickets in order to attract local citizens. For instance, In Jeddah the government institution established different facilities and activities in Jeddah season to attract all people the consequence of this implementation there is a huge rise in the number of locals visiting the season. Hence, the authorities play a crucial role in attracting the local population to visit historical places. In conclusion, Many people want to visit museums and historical sites. However, the money makes a barrier for local citizens. In my opinion, the government should solve this issue by reducing the amount of fees.