In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages giving children this message?

In many cultures, children are often told that by trying hard enough, they can achieve anything they want. While this message can motivate young people to pursue their goals, it may, however, create false hope, disappointment, and depression when they couldn’t achieve as much as they put effort into. The advantage of giving children this message is that it motivates their positive attitude to face challenges and difficulties. This encourages them that if they complete their duties, it is sure to obtain the good results that they desire, even though they experience obstacles. As a result, children become a more determined and disciplined person in pursuing their goals. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to this message. They might experience negative emotions when they fail due to unexpected situations. It is equally important that children should not only be taught by telling motivational ways to pursue their ambitions, but also by reminding them that failure is always possible for those who lack awareness of the real-world situation. In the real-world, success depends not only on how much effort you put in but also on a lot of factors such as individual ability, parenting, environment, financial resources, and even the administration of a country, which are either not in their control or their choice. In conclusion, telling children that they can accomplish anything if they work hard has both merits and drawbacks. If done correctly, children can be encouraged, motivated, and inspired to pursue their goals and ambitions. In addition, it is important for them to know some part of the difficulties in the real-world situation.