In some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays it is commonly observed that people become parents at a later age. Although the advantages of this include financial and psychological aspects, I believe the risks it brings outweigh the benefits to society as I will further discuss in this essay. Being parents at a later age appears to have a financial advantage. Most adults in their thirties or forties have a secure and stable income as compared to younger parents who may still struggle with employment. For example in Malaysia, a recent guideline from the ministry estimated a rising financial cost of supporting a child which is twofold from previously. Therefore, a stable family economy would mean a better opportunity for the children in terms of education and access to basic facilities. Secondly, elder adults are usually more mature and often ready to take the responsibility of being parents. Nurturing, guidance and loving children which are essential elements of parenting may become more effortless. On the other hand, significant risk to the mother’s health is of major concern if children are born at a later age. It has been shown in medical research that pregnancy complications such as hypertension and diabetes are affecting older adults more than younger ones. Furthermore, children who are conceived by older parents have higher chances of having abnormalities such as Autism and Down Syndrome. Caring for offspring with special needs demands emotional and physical strength and requires higher financial costs. This may cause great strain on family function. In conclusion, the drawbacks of having kids at a later age are due to health concerns for the unborn child as well as pregnancy complications for the mother. Although in modern life, having kids at older age seems unavoidable, mindful life planning and regular health assessment will be beneficial to ensure the safety and well-being of the family members