Nowadays, more and more older people compete with younger people for the same jobs. What can be reason for this what would you suggest as a solution?

In recent years, there has been a rise in job competition among young and old generations. Although certain problems have arisen as a result of this increased competition, some actions can be taken to tackle them. To begin with, one of the major problems is that of technological proficiency between both age cohorts. It is no secret that most of today's companies rely on modern technology to run their operations, but the youth have grown up as digital natives while the elderly happen to be at a disadvantage due to a lack of technological experience. That is why, for example, young workers are usually much more skilled at typing than their older counterparts. To solve this issue, training should be provided for seniors to reduce technological illiteracy and discrimination regarding their age. Another worrying aspect to examine is that such a kind of competition for the same job vacancies breeds resentment. While more experienced older applicants can find this competition inappropriate, the younger ones with a high potential for growth have to work harder to prove their worth. Solving this problem involves companies hiring an equal number of workers from both age groups depending on their skills. This equality could, in turn, foster cooperation and reduce misunderstandings between both generations. In conclusion, two of the main problems that have resulted from fierce competition for landing the same jobs among young and old people are digital unawareness and discontentment. However, companies can offer workshops and ensure equality in the recruitment process to mitigate such difficulties.