In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this is happening? How far is this situation true in your country? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that many basic skills such as making clothes or fixing materials at home, have been forgotten by individuals through the years. I think that complicated and modern lifestyles is the main reason of disappearing these skills and this includes my country as a developing society too. Admittedly, there are various reasons for disappearing the major skills of the households. Firstly, nowadays in the modern world and technology era, people often occupy professions that take the major time of their lives, therefore they do not find any free time to do extracurricular activities such as repairing things or sewing their own clothes. Furthermore, because of financial issues, people have to dedicate more time to work, which results in less time to extend their essential domestic skills. Secondly, today every work become more complicated than past, so consequently need experts and professionals. For example, making dresses not only requires enough time but also a specialist dressmaker to meet the standard of modern lifestyles. Lastly, individuals in past are more family-based, which makes them contribute to household challenges. Nowadays people are more goal-oriented persons, which makes them concentrate on their ambitions. In Iran, as a developing country, this situation is true. Many people in Iran work hard from morning till night, and in their free time, they prefer to rest or enjoy hobbies like sports instead of doing extra work like making dresses. For example, in the past, my grandfather had various skills such as making wooden furniture, painting the house, and gardening. In addition, he had some information on medical plants which resulted in writing a book on this subject. Moreover, he made clothes for his family, while he was an employee at a train station. In the same case, my mother has many skills while I have any of those skills. I often commuted to work in traffic and when I arrived home, I had minimum time to do some homework like cuisine. After all, I allocate my time to academic education to reach my ambitions. However, I have my own leisure such as hiking. In conclusion, it is undeniably true that many basic skills are disappearing due to various extents such as modern life that do not allow individuals to have free time for gaining extra skills related to household.