In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Social competitions are becoming increasingly drastic these days, and hence the younger generations are required to strive hard for better lives. Some educational patterns focus on delivering the idea that nothing is impossible after trying your best. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this educational concept. On one hand, this mindset could increase the well-being of children. Presenting a positive conclusion to the children allows them to be inspired to a maximal extend. Research has shown that the probability of successfully completing a task is significantly higher for those implementers who believe they are able to achieve the results than those who do not. This kind of inner-driven motivation will further support the younger generation to act and learn effectively. Once they have experienced the sense of achievements, these young cohorts tend to conduct further actions. As a result, they will naturally engage into a continuous self-development process. On the other hand, the reward-oriented notion could lead to severe impact on the mental health of teenagers. The reward-oriented concept is indeed transfering the burden of failures to the young people. Children who blindly follow the guidance of this could be disappointed if they are not able to achieve the expected results after striving their best. In some extreme cases, the sense of disappointment could lead to self-doubt and eventually evolve into mental diseases such as depression and axiousness. In conclusion, this essay has mentioned that the reward-oriented educational pattern could inspire the younger generation and hence guide them into an effective self-improvement cycle. However, the negative aspects of this concept, namely the development of self-doubt after failures, should not be overlooked.