Many criminals commit further crime as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effects will this have on society?

It is a well-known fact that many criminals engage in more criminal activities after they get released from jail. In my personal opinion, there could be a myriad of reasons for the convicts to involve themselves in committing such crimes. This essay will discuss the main reasons of this tendency and describe the possible effects of the problem. Firstly, there are a plethora of reasons that encourage the offenders to commit crimes again. The predominant one may be unemployment, as criminal background drastically reduces employment opportunities. Most employers would refuse to recruit them due to their past offence records. For example, in the United States, almost three quarters of all ex-inmates turn to crime within five years of leaving prison. Another significant cause of recidivism is the insufficient focus on rehabilitation within the prison system. Many prisons prioritize punishment over equipping inmates with skills that can help them reintegrate into society. As a result, without education, vocational training, or psychological support, inmates often leave prison with the same mindset and circumstances that led them to feel that a criminal life is their only option. Meanwhile, there are some effects of this phenomenon on society. In one hand. released ex-criminals make the whole society feel unsafe and damages their emotional well-being. It will be hard for citizens to accept former convicts in society. For instance, last year, after fifteen-year statement in prison, criminal had been convicted of kidnapping was released, and this made the whole town live in fear for their children's safety. Furthermore, they might affect society badly and provide adverse effects on other communities too. Other public will be influenced by such activities. As a result, the quantity of crime will certainly increase. In conclusion, lack of opportunities for employment and difficulty adapting to society lead to a higher percentage of the second convictions. This situation may make people afraid to take legislation and live in harmony.