“Children all over the world should learn to speak a single, universal language fluently in addition to their native language.” To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, universal language are taught to most children. Since it is believed that a capacity to speak fluently outside of their native languages is important. I personally agree with the statement. In my opinion, universal language could bring children to broaden their horizons. In this essay, I will explain more regarding the topic. To start with, the importance of communication is undeniable. Communication is not only done to people within our region. In order to proceed with worldwide communication, we need to have one universal language that everyone can understand. With this comes the importance of bilingual capability. As an Indonesian myself, I find it essential to learn English. Especially since I am going to pursue my education abroad. Therefore, teaching children to speak English at an early age would bring so much convenience for them in the future. However, we should not lose our own country's cultures in the process. For instance, some of my friends who have attended international school since kindergarten are not fluent in Bahasa Indonesia. Because they were taught English as their first language. It is highly important that we have to be able to communicate with our own national people. As a matter of fact, we can learn even more about the cultural values of our country if we are able to understand the language that it speaks. In conclusion, teaching universal language to children would have a great impact and I completely agree with the statement. However, it is crucial to not completely overlook the importance of our native language as well.