Some people believe the purpose of education is to make people useful to society. Others believe it is to prepare them to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What is the ultimate purpose of education? Some point out that the goal of education is to prepare skillful labour for contributing to the society. While on the other hand, another group thinks that education exists to prepare individuals for self actualisation. Personally, I do believe there can be more than one purpose of education. I will present both views above and provide my own view points. First of all, for those who believe that education is to allow individauls to hone skill required for the betterment of the society, they are coming from a Collectivism view. Where they focus more on a bigger community, like a nation, than a single citizen. This angle of looking at education is not wrong at all because it is necessary to first have a thriving country in order to have good quality of live for individuals in the society. While the key for the conutry to advance is also to have individuals who are equipped with various skill and knowledge. For example, comparing between the USA, a more developed country, and Ethiopia, a developing country, the number of illiterate is a lot less for the USA because the government enforced compulsory education. On the flipped side, for those who support that education is to prepare individual for chasing personal goals, they are coming from an individualism view, where they focus more on personal achievements. Education allows individuals to get in touch with the world and provide them with the ability to disguish between good and bad, as well as to choose their own course of live. This is all to equip everyone to be responsible for their own action, and hence their own lives. Without education, one can hardly climb up the social ladder and achieve something more. In my opinion, the above 2 viewpoints are not mutually exclusive. One can always contribute to the society and while actualizing his or her own ambition. In fact, most of the time, an internal drive for achieveing one's own dream is the biggest momentum to foster societal growth. For example Stephen Hawkin found his interest to society since he was at the age of 3. Without this passion, all the incredible discoveries he has made that benefits the entire human race would not be possible at all. Hence, I believe that these 2 views discussed are both legitimate and they are closely affecting one another.