Some people think that students who don’t take a break in studies between high school and the university are at a disadvantage compared to students who travel and work after high school before further continuing their education. Do you agree or disagree?

There have been arguments supporting that a gap year between high school and college is beneficial for students. To a large extent, I do not agree with the above viewpoint and in this essay, I am going to explain the reasons behind. First of all, those who advocates for a gap year usually comes from the point that a break from education allows students to participate in various activities that widen their horizons. For example, some may take part in a working holiday or be engaged with self-initiated projects of their hobbies. However, almost all universities provide students with exchange programme opportunities, where youngsters can study abroad for a semester, acquire necessary life skills by living afar from their family, and be exposed to a completely foreign culture. One does not have to postpone tertiary education for gaining various life experience. On the flip side, a gap year may have detrimental effect on adolescents it is not well planned out with a clear goal in mind. For those who are less self-diciplined self-discipline and more spontaneous, there is a chance that the gap year is gone by fast without allowing them to achieve anything meaningful. Because without the structure of school life and regular class schedules, it is a lot more challenging for one to make sure there is learning and take-away from every activity that happens everyday. By contrast, college programmes are designed by education professionals to make sure students are able to absorb new knowledge and skills, in a step by step way. It is a lot easier for students to make good use of time in preparing for the future. In conclusion, I do not agree that students who opt out for a gap year lose anything valuable when compared to those who decide to take a break before continuing with advanced education. Afterall, I believe whether or not a gap year is advantageous depends case by case on individuals' personalities and preferences.