Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that the advertisement is able to persuade us to buy products, while others believe that advertising has become so common that it no longer has an impact on our choice of purchase. I believe that the success rate of advertising is dependent on the method used. On the one hand, those who argue that the techniques are excessively used to the extent that they have lost their impact may present a good point. This is because, by continuous exposure to the same manipulation way, our brain becomes tolerant of it and considers it an everyday experience. Moreover, most people prefer to stick to the product they are used to. For instance, you are not likely to rush over to buy the washing soap you saw on TV because a famous celebrity used it, or it was said that it kills 99.99% of germs, as you know based on your previous experience that this is just a way companies use to manipulate you to use their goods. On the other hand, certain propaganda has proven impressive results in the impact they have on not only persuading customers to buy products but even changing the public mindset and political opinion. This is mainly caused by the precise psychological techniques that the persuader uses depending on the social and educational level of the society. For instance, during the first world war, various films and posters were made with the aim of changing public opinion into loyalty to America and hatred toward the Nazis by putting the spotlight on the details of their atrocities, whether they are real or alleged. This resulted in widespread hatred amongst individuals towards the Germans, which was the driving power for men to join the army in order to prove their loyalty to the states. In conclusion, while it is true that nowadays people have become unaffected by commercial ads due to the overuse of the same ways, choosing the effective way of persuading people can result in mind-blowing results.